Growing Up Little

A woman exploring the world of BDSM and sharing what she discovers…

Bout of Books – Read-a-Thon

on January 6, 2013

Bout of Books

Read-a-Thon

Bout of Books Read-a-Thon

The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week-long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, January 7th and runs through Sunday, January 13th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure, and the only reading competition is between you and your usual number of books read in a week. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 6.0 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog. -From the Bout of Books 6.0 team

Okay – so this will officially be considered my very FIRST reading challenge!  Although, I did sign up for the Monthly Key Word Reading Challenge 2013 – I have not yet found a book for January with an appropriate title to read yet, so that’s why I’m considering this my very first reading challenge!  AND… this challenge starts at MIDNIGHT… which is approximately 50 minutes from NOW!

MY GOALS:

  • Finish reading:  Far from the Madding Crowd by Thomas Hardy (currently on page 86 of 458 pages).
  • Read:  Watch Mommy Die by Michael Benson.
  • Read Jitterbug Perfume by Tom Robbins.
  • Listen to one audio book (start to finish).
  • Write a Review of at least ONE of the books and post the review on my blog.
  • Participate in at least ONE challenge/giveaway.
  • Comment on at least THREE Bout of Books participants blogs during the challenge.
  • Start following at least ONE new blog that is a Bout of Books participant.

Updates  (to be filled in as the week progresses…)

Monday

What I’ve read today:  Watch Mommy Die (read pages 1 – 99)

Total goals completed:  0 of 8

Comments:  I’ve been checking out a lot of blogs and finding more reading challenges as I go!  It’s eaten up quite a bit of time today – time that I could have spent reading or working towards my challenge goals BUT… it sure is fun to check a bunch of new blogs out and join (or consider joining) other reading challenges as well!  No real regrets!

*************************************************************************

Tuesday

What I’ve read today:  Listened to about 2.5 hours of the audiobook ‘The Diary’.  Read more of Watch Mommy Die (pages 100-150).

Total goals completed:  0 of 8

Comments:  Not alot of internet time today to go blog searching 😦

**************************************************************************

Wednesday

What I’ve read today:  Listened to 30 minutes of the audiobook ‘The Diary’ (total of 3 of  5 hours).

Other Goals worked on:  Participated in The Page 48 Challenge, hosted by Booking in Heels.

Total goals completed:  1 of 8

Comments:  Falling behind…. eek!  Did I bite off more than I could chew?

***************************************************************************

Thursday

What I’ve read today:  American Psycho (which is NOT on my goal list)

Goals I have completed:  I have started following a blog that is a participant in this challenge AND I have commented on a participants blog (goal is 3… so 1 of 3 completed).

Other Related Activities:  Participated in Book Spine Poetry challenge, hosted by Escape Through The Pages.  First time I have ever written a Book Spine Poem – lots of fun! 

Total goals completed:  2 of 8

Comments:  Falling further behind.  Reading books that aren’t on my goal list, likely isn’t helping me!

****************************************************************************
Friday

What I’ve read today:  About 100 pages of American Psycho (which is NOT a book on my goal list).

Goals I Have Completed:  Started following a participant’s blog.

Other related activities:  Entered the Rewrite The Synopsis Challenge using Far From The Madding Crowd.

Total goals completed:  3 of 8

Comments:  Still reading a book that isn’t on my goal list! 

*****************************************************************************
Saturday

What I’ve read today:

Goals I have completed:

Total goals completed:

Comments:
Sunday

What I’ve read today:

Goals I have completed:

Total goals completed:

Comments:

11 responses to “Bout of Books – Read-a-Thon

  1. Georgie Lee says:

    Great progress on your goals!

    • Thank you! I feel like I am lagging behind! I am new to the entire book challenge thing… so… I am learning that I think I can get alot more done, that I actually have time for! Oh well – live and learn I suppose! Thanks for the encouragement though!

  2. […] For ALL updates check out my post at:  Bout of Books – Read-a-Thon […]

  3. I think we need some flexibility in out goals. I very nearly started reading a book as soon as it dropped through my letterbox this week! I’m all for readign what you feel like at the time.

    • Yep – absolutely. I have learned that this time! This is my first reading challenge I have participated in, so… next time… I will for sure add in some built in flexibity around my goals! Live and learn!

  4. Kelsey says:

    Good job so far! I like that you have a goal list that you can cross off too. I still haven’t participated in any of the challenges, but the twitter chats are super fun! Good luck this weekend!

  5. Good progress 🙂 Don’t worry too much about deviating from your book goals – as long as you’re reading and having fun, right? 🙂 And good luck with the other goals too!

    • Thanks! Starting to realize – I need to make my goals more flexible! AND… yes I am having fun with this challenge for sure. I have participated in several of the challenges and have really enjoyed that part too! Thanks for commenting!

  6. Bree says:

    You’re doing great! I had a goal of 10 books and so far have only finished 2 (2 more are almost done)…but as long as I’m having fun it’s OK in my opinion! 🙂 I also set out which books to read which worked for me *this* time since I’m also doing a month-long challenge to read review books only (my exception to that is audiobooks which I listen to in my car as publishers rarely give audiobooks for review, lol). But next time I’ll also allow some flexibility in what I’m reading so I can read what I’m craving…sometimes we get things unexpectedly and need to make them fit! 😉

What Do YOU think....

