Growing Up Little

A woman exploring the world of BDSM and sharing what she discovers…

Musing Monday – January 7th, 2013

on January 7, 2013

Musing Monday – January 7th, 2013

musingmondays5

Musing Mondays asks you to muse about one of the following each week…

• Describe one of your reading habits.

• Tell us what book(s) you recently bought for yourself or someone else, and why you chose that/those book(s).

• Tell us what you’re reading right now — what you think of it, so far; why you chose it; what you are (or, aren’t) enjoying it.

I’m going to choose the following:

Tell us what you’re reading right now — what you think of it, so far; why you chose it; what you are (or, aren’t) enjoying it.

far-from-madding-crowd-thomas-hardy-paperback-cover-art

I am currently reading Far from the Madding Crowd by Thomas Hardy.  I have only read about 80 or so pages so far but it didn’t take me long to realize that this author is going to be a favourite of mine.  He wrote poetically.  The way he describes things, the metaphors he uses, he brings things to life so vividly.  I am definitely enjoying it.  It is not a ‘fluffy’ read at all.  It takes time to absorb his work but it is well worth the effort.

I choose this book for a few reasons.  One being that it is a classic.  I do want to read classics, at least ones that I enjoy once I start.  I won’t continue to read a classic simply because it is a classic.  Secondly, quite some time ago, I had picked it up and randomly flipped to a page and started reading… the story instantly grabbed my attention.  At the time, I was in a book store and did not want to purchase it, I decided that I would look for it, the next time I was at a library.  Well… it has taken awhile for me to actually end up with a copy from the library (absolutely my fault, not the library) and now I’m thinking I should have just purchased it to begin with because this is a book, I am confident that I will wish to re-read.

6 responses to “Musing Monday – January 7th, 2013

  1. One of my goals this year to read more classics. I will have to add this one to my TBR
    One of my reading habits: http://daystarz.wordpress.com/2013/01/07/musing-mondays-3/

    • Well – I have only read about 80 pages so far but I can already tell – it’s going to be a classic worth reading and likely re-reading. Please, when you DO read it, come back and let me know what YOU thought of it!

  2. I haven’t read this one, but it sounds like the kind I enjoy…I do love beautiful prose!

    Here’s MY MUSING MONDAYS POST

  3. i love Thomas Hardy.. and I loved this book too.. maybe time to re-read it now…
    and agree with what you say here – The way he describes things, the metaphors he uses, he brings things to life so vividly.

    • Thanks for commenting! This is the first thing I have read of Hardy’s but I don’t think it will be the last. It didn’t take me too long to realize, this was an author I was going to love!

What Do YOU think....

