Growing Up Little

A woman exploring the world of BDSM and sharing what she discovers…

Book Spine Poem Challenge

on January 10, 2013

Bout of Books 6.0 Challenge – Book Spine Poem

Bout of Books

Click here to learn details and rules of this challenge:  Escape Through the Pages.

Book Spine Contest

Book Spine Contest

Meet me for murder

By nightfall

Who’s the American psycho?

Far from the madding crowd

Your skinny legs and all

There will be betrayal by blood

16 responses to “Book Spine Poem Challenge

  1. sassyfrassylassie says:

    Yes, I have. I’ve also read “Skinny Legs and All”. I am a Tom Robbins fan.

    • Skinny Legs and All is the second Tom Robbins book that I have in my “to be read” pile! I have already started to read Jitterbug Perfume.
      What did you think of American Psycho? (without revealing any spoilers!!!)

      • sassyfrassylassie says:

        The book reads like the mind of a sociopath, methodical and without emotion. The tone is so clinical that it skims the edge of absurdity and because of this, it at times darkly humorous. For example when he describes his favorite bands and spends as much detail describing their music as he does describing his killings. If I remember right, a whole chapter was devoted to the music styling of Phil Collins. I mean c’mon, that is a feat. Phil Collins sucks. How much Phil Collins did the author have to listen to before he could write that chapter? I like the way he portrays the main character too. He is a fucked up human being and yet people are drawn to him. Why?

        My favorite (messed up) scene was when he fed his girlfriend a chocolate covered … (don’t want to spoil it for you).

        The book does a good job of capturing the 80s too.

        Sorry I am having a hard time communicating today. I haven’t really done the book justice, other than to say it is a great read. It made me sick to my stomach at some points. I read it in 1995 I think. I borrowed it from my then boyfriend.

      • sassyfrassylassie says:

        Another Roadside Attraction (1971)
        Even Cowgirls Get the Blues (1976)
        Still Life with Woodpecker (1980)
        Jitterbug Perfume (1984)
        Skinny Legs and All (1990)
        Half Asleep in Frog Pajamas (1994)

        I pulled these off of Wikipedia, but these are the Tom Robbins books I have read. My best girl friend adores his work and she would loan them to me when she was done reading them. I think I have one here that she loaned me and I haven’t started yet. Hmmm. That gives me a great idea. His writing is magical and it’s been so long since I have read his work. Thank you. I know exactly where that book is hiding too.

  2. sassyfrassylassie says:

    Also I am writing a review of a book I read 17 years ago. My memory is not the most reliable, but that is how I remember the book.

    • I have only read a little bit of it…. but I have already noticed how very, very 80’s it is! I can’t wait to devour it! I am also a true crime fan… so… I have a sneaking suspicion that this is a book I am going to adore.

      My Daddy is the one who recommended Tom Robbins to me. I had never heard of him before that. Which is odd because he has written quite a lot and has such a fan base too it seems.
      Which is the Tom Robbins book that are you going to read?
      Which one of those that you have read, is your favourite?

  3. sassyfrassylassie says:

    She loaned me Villa Incognito.

    I remember loving his books and I believe Jitterbug Perfume was my favorite, but honestly I need to read them all again. His books are a delicious read and I can plow through one in a day or two. Another one where the author uses the absurd to carry the action. His characters remind me of people I know, like my best girlfriend and her mama.

    • Well, Jitterbug will be the first I will read of his!
      Would love to hear what you think of Villa Incognito, once you read it!

      • sassyfrassylassie says:

        It is sitting on my desk as we speak, because you asked me to name the title. I had to fish it out of my closet to tell you. Hopefully, I will read it now. Thank you for helping me with that. 🙂 And yes, I will be glad to share my thoughts with you, when I am done reading it. I love his writing. He feels like a close friends when I am done reading one of his books.

  4. […] For Challenges check out:  The Page 48 Challenge and Book Spine Poem Challenge. […]

  5. sassyfrassylassie says:

    Hey there. I completely skipped the rules and really this is just for you. I rewrote the book jacket to American Psycho, but from his girlfriend’s POV. Remember, I have not read this book in 15 years or more and I didn’t research to see if I remember it right. Hopefully I did and this will be humorous. I don’t know if I could ever reread that book. It turned my stomach.

    Anyway, here goes nothing.

    This book is completely awesome and you should definitely read it. It’s about my boyfriend, Patty-Cakes. He hates it when I call him that. Well, not really, ‘cause I won’t call him that to his face. He would kill me if he heard me call him by that name, but anyway.

    So yeah, this book is like totally awesome. It’s all about my fiancé, I mean boyfriend, Patrick. He is Mr. High-Powered executive. He has the most rockinist bod and the coolest apartment. Everyone knows him and wants to be him or be with him. You should see his business cards.

    He loves me so much. He does really good boyfriend stuff like bring chocolate covered exotic stuff I can’t even name, but it’s awesome. I love it. He’s gonna marry me. (nodding) I just know it.

    So yeah, he has a few issues. Like, I don’t know, like hookers and stuff, but nobody’s perfect. I mean, ha! You should see what he does to them, but fuck ‘em, right? Like, they’re hookers. They get what they deserve. Besides, better them than me.

    Ya got any coke?

    • Oh man… I LOVE that! You really caught the essence of the girlfriend in the tone and wording! The things she notes as being important! Hilarious!

      I have read up to page 127 so far… so I haven’t yet gotten to the chocolate part. You remembered ALOT of details though… the business cards… I loved that in the book. So far… nothing TOO graphic has happened… so I’m kind of looking forward to getting to the ‘gross’ stuff…

      The constant repetition of him listing all the clothing, the brand names and where they purchased the clothing… getting a bit much. And… it really bothers me when they taunt the homeless guys….

      BUT… overall – I am enjoying this read!

      • sassyfrassylassie says:

        Is it the current girlfriend I am remembering or the ex-girlfriend? I am worried I have mixed up my characters. I don’t even know if that is an accurate portrayal, but for some reason that is who is coming to me. I need to reread it.

  6. sassyfrassylassie says:

    I think I am thinking of Bethany.

    • There is what I think is his ‘main’ girlfriend, named Eveylyn. The point in the book where I am at now… she has just brought up the cool idea that it would be nice for them to get married. She is more focused on how FUN it would be to have the wedding = not so much the marriage. Eveylyn is the character that placed SO much importance on the placement of sushi at the party, which took place in the opening chapter. She is hilarious.
      I don’t think I have read about Bethany yet.

What Do YOU think....

