Growing Up Little

A woman exploring the world of BDSM and sharing what she discovers…

There is Not a Thin Person Trapped Inside Me Either…

on January 26, 2013

There is NOT a Thin Person Trapped Inside Me Either

The article and picture below is from:  The Nearsighted Owl

I love her blog, especially her posts about fat acceptance.  Her attitude is remarkable…

Nearsighted Owl

Picture from the Nearsighted Owl blog.

I am not a skinny girl trapped in a fat body. My body is not “extra weight” or over my allotted allowance of size that I was meant to be. I am fat and probably always will be fat.
 
I have given up on the fantasy. The fantasy of having a different body. The fantasy of being thin. I used to have this reoccurring daydream that I was granted any wish I wanted, and my first one was to be thin and have long hair. Or anytime I saw a flat stomach, I would spend days thinking what it would be like if that was my body.
 
Now I can draw my own form without looking and don’t project other people’s bodies on my own. I feel like I am finally a tidy package, instead of this tall, fat, awkward disjointed person that I used to be. It took years for me to stop seeing myself as a potential thin person. To stop sucking it in and squinting at the mirror to see what I thought I wanted to see. Now I look at myself naked and I feel like a whole person. I feel like every inch of my body belongs to me and this is what I am supposed to fucking look like.
                                                                                                                                                        – Rachele
I can really identify with what she has written.
Thank you Rachele for blogging about fat acceptance!

 

17 responses to “There is Not a Thin Person Trapped Inside Me Either…

  1. Love this! Thanks for sharing my post.

  2. Dirk says:

    Gross.

  3. YouDenseMotherFucker! says:

    • It’s so sad that certain people want to bring things back to this sort of thing.
      It is so limited in scope to judge someone like this.
      I hope that a sense of compassion and understanding is brought to you soon.

      • My sense of compassion is what makes me want fat people to lose weight. If I didn’t have compassion I wouldn’t care.

      • There is a difference between compassion and negative judgement.
        I hope your style of compassion is the right one!
        More important that ‘caring’… is accepting the person regardless.
        Thanks for taking the time to comment.

  4. Footie says:

    http://www.boredpanda.com/body-scans-of-two-women-250lb-vs-120lb-pictures/

    Actually, there is a skinny person inside every obese person. It’s not healthy to accept obesity, it’s merely giving up. Obese people can lose so much just by doing minimal activity. Results don’t come over night, it takes time. You just have to want it.

    • You say it is not healthy to accept obesity..
      What I’m saying is accept the PERSON for who they are… regardless of size.
      A person’s worth is not determined by their size.

      • Ex-Fat Person says:

        you can accept someone for who they are regardless of their size, but the point is being extremely overweight is very bad for your health. I agree with what footie says, it is unhealthy to personally accept obesity. Youre just giving up and giving in. Having a healthy body takes effort. Maintaining a healthy diet is possibly one of the hardest things to do, with all the cheap unhealthy options tempting us wherever we go. But the fact of the matter is why would you choose to do something you know is bad for you, no matter how awesome it may seem. coming from someone who used to be quite large, i understand how awesome and satisfying eating a large pizza and a bag of chips in one sitting is. Doesnt make it right to accept that, as your body is the main thing that suffers. Again, back to what footie says, its about priorities. Henry Ford once said, “Whether you think you can, or cant, youre right”. All it takes is a positive mindset, a little bit of effort, and anything is possible. You just need to believe in yourself, put in some effort, and thats about it. Having self control, and being able to do what you set your mind to is the most satisfying and confidence boosting thing on the planet. So it pisses me off when someone says, “Im fat, and probably always will be fat”; that just blatantly says they are lazy and not willing to put the effort in to become healthy. Literally nothing good comes from being fat, socially (because our society completely prefers skinny people over fat, not saying its right but thats how it is), mentally (because of the social aspects and self confidence issues), and most importantly, your health (obesity causes a massive range of health problems, which can easily be avoided with a balanced diet and exercise). So maybe start caring for your body, your life will get better tenfold. Humans are not supposed to look like that, if we were there wouldnt be a fuckton of diseases and negative health effects that are caused by obesity. So stop making excuses and maybe try a little. you wont regret it. end of rant.

      • Obesity is misunderstood by a lot of people. There is certainly a lack of compassion for those that struggle with it. One day, I hope that the general public will look at someone struggling with obesity in the same way that others with addiction struggle.
        For someone to say ‘maybe try a little’ – obviously has a lack of understanding of the intensity of the problem. Something you may want to consider. Thanks for taking the time to comment.

  5. SatanRules says:

    This fat bitch has just stupidity overload, with many stupid fans. But, FORTUNATELY, they’ll all die young. They won’t pass 60 years by eating more than 10 000 calories per day. Just throw this kind of people (promoting obesity and fat) in the fire. They are a good stock of usable energy.

  6. Alexis says:

    I wonder if people feel the same way about this as I do: I love and hate it at the same time. I love people accepting themselves for who they are. I have never been extremely overweight but I have been chubby and struggled with my body image and confidence. I understand now that loving yourself the way you are is extremely important for everyone. So I absolutely adore seeing larger people who have respect and love for their bodies. But at the same time I am a fitness and nutrition fanatic. I watch countless educational shows and documentaries about obesity, fat, nutrition, body image, eating disorders, etc. So I believe that I know a good deal about obesity- enough to know that it is extremely harmful not even just for the person in question but for their loved ones, friends, family, and society as a whole. In truth, people are not supposed to be obese- the skeletal structure cannot hold all that weight, the organ system cannot function at 100% for that weight, and the cardiovascular system cannot pump blood throughout a person of larger size perfectly- at least not for such a long time… I’m trying very hard not to hurt anyone’s feelings here, but the fact is, obesity is destructive. I have such compassion for people who are obese or even overweight- I don’t believe they deserve to be judged, considered lazy, hated, or “shamed” for their size. I do believe people should love themselves and their body, but I guess what I’m asking is, if you truly love yourself- why are you killing yourself? If you really love yourself and your body you have to fuel it with the proper foods and fitness and keep it functioning at 100%. Being thin shouldn’t even be a concern but being healthy should be. Honestly, what’s the point in loving your body if in a few years it will be in a casket? So therefore, what I’m trying to say is I have full respect for obese people but at the same time, I want to encourage them to lose weight, not to be skinny or fit into society’s unachievable standards, but to be healthy and care for themselves. Also, to be clear, I am not directing this to the woman in the picture but to overweight/obese who look at pictures like these and think “I’m beautiful and I don’t have to change”. Yes, you are beautiful- everyone of any size is- but you do have to change, to enrich your life, reward your body, and be as healthy as possible for yourself and those that you love. I hope I got my message across without offending anyone and if I did, I’m terribly sorry.

What Do YOU think....

