Growing Up Little

A woman exploring the world of BDSM and sharing what she discovers…

My Teen Got A Tattoo

on February 26, 2013

 

Grrr….

My lovely daughter, who just turned 18 years old… went out and got a tattoo tonight.

Surprisingly – that’s not the part that upsets me… what upsets me, is that she has been talking about getting one done for the longest time… planned it out… had it created by the tattoo artist, it would have been beautiful.  It held a lot of meaning, was artistic, I trusted the artist who was going to do it and she chose the back of her neck for placement, so she could easily hide it with her hair if she wanted to.  That, I would have been okay with.

So… long story short… she is ‘stuck’ in a different place right now (for reasons I won’t get into tonight) and she spontaneously went out (with the money I had given her for clothes) and decided to ‘drop in’ and get a tattoo of an M behind her ear… with six stars.  M is the initial of her last name.

Thank God she told me over the phone.

I didn’t freak out at her… just sort of said… ‘oh, can’t wait to see it’… that type of thing.

I am speechless.  Just fucking speechless.

And sad.

I can’t stop her from making stupid mistakes anymore.

Mistakes that are going to last a lifetime.

 

 

4 responses to “My Teen Got A Tattoo

  1. littlekaninchen says:

    I’m with you! You can’t stop her anymore.. You have to tell her… I’ve given you all I can.. Now it’s your time to use all I’ve given and told you to make a life of good decisions for yourself… Oh yeah and by the way… No more clothes money is coming your way for a while… Lol! Just kidding… I guess you have to buck it up and cry those silent mom tears… Just pray …… She will find her way… Her way… ❤, hugs,💋’s…. 🐇🐇🐇🐇🐇

    • Thanks for your kind words and good advice.
      I think I am having a bit of a hard time letting her truly go.
      I didn’t think 18 would be so hard but it seems to be so far.
      AND yeah – no extra money, just because she blew it on a tattoo!
      There is an adult lesson for you! LOL
      Thanks for commenting!

  2. lindaghill says:

    Kids are scary that way. There’s nothing harder than letting them make their own mistakes except maybe having to watch.

What Do YOU think....

