Growing Up Little

A woman exploring the world of BDSM and sharing what she discovers…

Bout of Books – Goals and Progress

on August 19, 2013

Bout of Books 8.0 – Goals and Progress

Bout of Books banner

The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, August 19th and runs through Sunday, August 25th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure, and the only reading competition is between you and your usual number of books read in a week. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 8.0 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog. – From the Bout of Books team

My Goals:

  • Read The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde
  • Create and post a list of favourite quotes from The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde
  • Write and post a book review of An Umbrella for Alex
  • Read a minimum of 100 pages per day (at least 5 out of the 7 challenge days)
  • Finish reading Crow Lake by Mary Lawson
  • Finish reading Kiss Me, Judas by Will Christopher Baer
  • Post a new image to do with books, reading, etc. on my blog everyday that I admire/love.
  • Participate in TWO challenges during the week
  • Visit 3 new bloggers participating in Bout of Books 8.0
  • Leave a comment on ONE blog post of a blogger participating in Bout of Books 8.0

Progress

Monday

Read today:  The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde
Pages read today: maybe 20 pages….
Thoughts on today’s Bout of Books 8.0 experience:
Book Image Posted:  https://growinguplittle.wordpress.com/2013/08/19/monday-book-image-i-love/
Goals accomplished today:  Entered ONE challenge – Bookish Bucket List on Sarah Says Read, posted book image

Tuesday

Read today:  The Picture of Dorian Gray
Pages read today:  40 or so pages
Thoughts on today’s Bout of Books 8.0 experience:  seems I am getting off to a slow start… but of course… unexpected LIFE things are getting in the way!
Goals accomplished today:  posted book image

Wednesday

Read today:  The Picture Of Dorian Gray
Pages read today:  122
Thoughts on today’s Bout of Books 8.0 experience:  I am starting to realize… my goals that I set are going to be harder to accomplish than I originally thought!
Goals accomplished today:  posted book image, read at least 100 pages

Thursday

Read today:  none
Pages read today:  none
Thoughts on today’s Bout of Books 8.0 experience:  bad read-a-thon day!
Goals accomplished today:  posted book image

Friday

Read today:  The Picture Of Dorian Gray
Pages read today:  80
Thoughts on today’s Bout of Books 8.0 experience:  Falling way behind on my goals but having a lot of fun – which is the entire point!
Goals accomplished today:  Posted book image and read (although didn’t reach target page count)

Saturday

Read today:  The Ethical Slut
Pages read today:  50ish
Thoughts on today’s Bout of Books 8.0 experience:  Had a lot of fun participating in the Acrostic Book Poem Challenge!
Goals accomplished today:  Entered another challenge – Acrostic Book Poem, hosted by I Read, Ergo I Write.  You can find my poem post by clicking this link:  Acrostic Book Poem Challenge.  Read (although didn’t reach target page count).

Goals accomplished overall:

  • Post a new image to do with books, reading, etc. on my blog everyday that I admire/love.
  • Participate in TWO challenges during the week
Goals left to accomplish:  too many to face!   😦

Sunday

Read today:  It Chooses You by Miranda July
Pages read today:  218
Thoughts on today’s Bout of Books 8.0 experience:  So sad that the week is over!
Goals accomplished today:  Read more than 100 pages.  Wrote a review of It Chooses You (although it wasn’t a review I had on my goal list!)
Goals accomplished overall:

  • Post a new image to do with books, reading, etc. on my blog everyday that I admire/love.
  • Participate in TWO challenges during the week
  • Wrote ONE review.  (even though it wasn’t a review I specifically had as a goal to write… I’m going to count it anyway!)
  • Although I didn’t read 100 pages PER day (5 of 7 days)… I did read more than 500 pages total.  (which sucks for me)

Challenges I Participated In:

1.  I entered and completed the Bookish Bucket List challenge hosted by Sarah Says Read.  See my comment here:   http://sarahsaysread.com/2013/08/19/bout-of-books-mini-challenge/#comment-9146

2.  I entered and completed the Acrostic Book Poem Challenge hosted by I Read, Ergo I Write.  To view my Book Poem click on this link:  Acrostic Book Poem Challenge.  It was a ton of fun doing this challenge.  I used the title:  The Picture of Dorian Gray, which has now become one of my favourite reads ever!

12 responses to “Bout of Books – Goals and Progress

  1. Belle Read says:

    Great goals! I still would like to read Pictures of Dorian Gray. Best of luck and enjoy!

    • Thank you! I hope to make good progress I my goals this week (fingers crossed!).
      The Picture of Dorian Gray is already proving to be an interesting read… I can’t wait to get deeper into it.
      I plan to post some of my favourite quotes from the book – so be sure to come back and see which ones I’ve picked! Thanks for commenting and for reading! Take care!

  2. […] Bout of Books – Goals and Progress Aug […]

  3. […] post is part of the goals I created for myself as part of Bout of Books 8.0. I have challenged myself to choose and post an image to do with books or reading that I admire […]

  4. […] post is part of the goals I created for myself as part of Bout of Books 8.0. I have challenged myself to choose and post an image to do with books or reading that I admire […]

  5. […] post is part of the goals I created for myself as part of Bout of Books 8.0. I have challenged myself to choose and post an image to do with books or reading that I admire […]

  6. […] post is part of the goals I created for myself as part of Bout of Books 8.0. I have challenged myself to choose and post an image to do with books or reading that I admire […]

  7. […] post is part of the goals I created for myself as part of Bout of Books 8.0. I have challenged myself to choose and post an image to do with books or reading that I admire […]

  8. […] Goals left to accomplish:  too many to face by listing them!   To view my post of my entire week of progress (or more accurately LACK of progress)… check out my post:  Bout of Books – Goals and Progress […]

  9. […] post is part of the goals I created for myself as part of Bout of Books 8.0. I have challenged myself to choose and post an image to do with books or reading that I admire […]

  10. […] post is part of the goals I created for myself as part of Bout of Books 8.0. I have challenged myself to choose and post an image to do with books or reading that I admire […]

What Do YOU think....

