Growing Up Little

A woman exploring the world of BDSM and sharing what she discovers…

Bout of Books 8.0 – A Sad Ending

on August 26, 2013

Bout of Books 8.0 – A Sad Ending

Bout of Books banner

Okay – the week is over and once again I did NOT meet the goals I set for myself.  You’d think I learn to set my goals lower…. is that a sign of optimism on my part or just stupidity?

Regardless of how I do though and how I have NEVER yet reached all the goals I set for myself… I always enjoy participating in Bout of Books and for me – that’s the point.  So on further reflection… I DID reach my goal! 

These are the original goals I set for myself:

My Goals:

  • Read The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde
  • Create and post a list of favourite quotes from The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde
  • Write and post a book review of An Umbrella for Alex
  • Read a minimum of 100 pages per day (at least 5 out of the 7 challenge days)
  • Finish reading Crow Lake by Mary Lawson
  • Finish reading Kiss Me, Judas by Will Christopher Baer
  • Post a new image to do with books, reading, etc. on my blog everyday that I admire/love.
  • Participate in TWO challenges during the week
  • Visit 3 new bloggers participating in Bout of Books 8.0
  • Leave a comment on ONE blog post of a blogger participating in Bout of Books 8.0

AND… this is what I actually ended up doing:

 

Progress

Monday

Read today:  The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde
Pages read today: maybe 20 pages….
Thoughts on today’s Bout of Books 8.0 experience:
Book Image Posted:  https://growinguplittle.wordpress.com/2013/08/19/monday-book-image-i-love/
Goals accomplished today:  Entered ONE challenge – Bookish Bucket List on Sarah Says Read, posted book image

Tuesday

Read today:  The Picture of Dorian Gray
Pages read today:  40 or so pages
Thoughts on today’s Bout of Books 8.0 experience:  seems I am getting off to a slow start… but of course… unexpected LIFE things are getting in the way!
Goals accomplished today:  posted book image

Wednesday

Read today:  The Picture Of Dorian Gray
Pages read today:  122
Thoughts on today’s Bout of Books 8.0 experience:  I am starting to realize… my goals that I set are going to be harder to accomplish than I originally thought!
Goals accomplished today:  posted book image, read at least 100 pages

Thursday

Read today:  none
Pages read today:  none
Thoughts on today’s Bout of Books 8.0 experience:  bad read-a-thon day!
Goals accomplished today:  posted book image

Friday

Read today:  The Picture Of Dorian Gray
Pages read today:  80
Thoughts on today’s Bout of Books 8.0 experience:  Falling way behind on my goals but having a lot of fun – which is the entire point!
Goals accomplished today:  Posted book image and read (although didn’t reach target page count)

Saturday

Read today:  The Ethical Slut
Pages read today:  50ish
Thoughts on today’s Bout of Books 8.0 experience:  Had a lot of fun participating in the Acrostic Book Poem Challenge!
Goals accomplished today:  Entered another challenge – Acrostic Book Poem, hosted by I Read, Ergo I Write.  You can find my poem post by clicking this link:  Acrostic Book Poem Challenge.  Read (although didn’t reach target page count).

Goals accomplished overall:

  • Post a new image to do with books, reading, etc. on my blog everyday that I admire/love.
  • Participate in TWO challenges during the week
Goals left to accomplish:  too many to face!   😦

Sunday

Read today:  It Chooses You by Miranda July
Pages read today:  218
Thoughts on today’s Bout of Books 8.0 experience:  So sad that the week is over!
Goals accomplished today:  Read more than 100 pages.  Wrote a review of It Chooses You (although it wasn’t a review I had on my goal list!)

Goals accomplished overall:

  • Post a new image to do with books, reading, etc. on my blog everyday that I admire/love.
  • Participate in TWO challenges during the week
  • Wrote ONE review.  (even though it wasn’t a review I specifically had as a goal to write… I’m going to count it anyway!)
  • Although I didn’t read 100 pages PER day (5 of 7 days)… I did read more than 500 pages total.  (which sucks for me)

And… these are the awesome challenges I participated in (one of the most enjoyable things about Bout of Books):

Challenges I Participated In:

1.  I entered and completed the Bookish Bucket List challenge hosted by Sarah Says Read.  See my comment here:   http://sarahsaysread.com/2013/08/19/bout-of-books-mini-challenge/#comment-9146

2.  I entered and completed the Acrostic Book Poem Challenge hosted by I Read, Ergo I Write.  To view my Book Poem click on this link:  Acrostic Book Poem Challenge.  It was a ton of fun doing this challenge.  I used the title:  The Picture of Dorian Gray, which has now become one of my favourite reads ever!

So… there you go.  That’s my ‘wrap up’ post.  Next time… somebody… PLEASE remind me… not to set my sights too high?  Thanks to the organizers and those that hosted challenges!  Without them – there wouldn’t be a Bout of Books 8.0!

I am already looking forward to the next one!

2 responses to “Bout of Books 8.0 – A Sad Ending

  1. Charleen says:

    Yup, having fun is always goal #1… even if we sometimes forget to write that one down. Glad it was a good week for you!

  2. Dear Little,
    I admire your enthusiasm, and dedication. You Rock : )

What Do YOU think....

